October Schmoctober

I see you, October.

Usually, I’m a huge fan of you.

This year, ehh, not so much.

Mainly because of the impending doom that is my birthday. This one I am not excited about. The big ole 2-5. 25 you say? That’s not old. Of course, it is not old. It’s not the age but what it represents.

25. I’ve been out of college for 3 years. What do I have to show for it? Absolutely nada. Little tidbit of information: DON’T CHOOSE HISTORY AS YOUR MAJOR. Unless, you plan on going to law school. Which is everyone’s course of action these days. Because they have nothing else to do in their lives. Don’t know what you want to do? Problem solved. Go to law school. I say to that, “no.”

I’m dreading what it represents. It represents my complete and utter lack of motivation in life. I don’t know what I want to do with my life and that scares the absolute shit out of me. Most people, even in their 40’s, say they don’t know what to do with their lives but they have successful careers, they have families, their shit is ultimately together. Mine, no where in sight.

As of last week, I became un-unemployed. Not exactly what I had in mind but I can squirrel away money and hope for the best. Being funemployed sucked. 1) You have no income 2) Bills don’t quit just because you do 3) Too much down time for one person to endure.

25 and my wheels are stuck in mud just a-spinning.

However, I, like a good red wine, am only getting better with age. High school? I looked like an absolute wreck. College? An absolute train wreck with a extra helping of drunk. Now? I’m still a wreck but I can make myself look pretty damn good when I need to. (I’m saying that in the least shallow-est way possible. Seriously.)

I’m 50/50 on this whole birthday thing. I really just want to snuggle up in my bed and watch Netflix and Hulu all day long. That sounds so much more appealing than going out and wishing I was in bed the whole time.

Shit’s going down whether I like it or not. Might as well hop on this crazy train and drive it like I know where I’m going.

Fake it til you make it, right?

Also, pumpkin spice everything needs to pump the breaks. Please retire it. Find a new obsession. Go back to using pumpkins the way they were meant to be used: dropped off of really tall things.

P.S.

Who sings a song about being 25? 22 & 23 are covered? What about the rest of the numbers, Taylor??

Leave a Reply

